The ONLY active voice for American Arab Journalists.

Friday, December 28, 2007

Neiman Taylor Family Award for Fairness in Newspapers

The Nieman Foundation would greatly appreciate it if you would encourage NAAJA members to apply for the 2008 Taylor Family Award for Fairness in Newspapers. The award, which carries a $10,000 prize, was established through gifts for an endowment by members of the Taylor family, who published The Boston Globe from 1872 to 1999. For the first time, second and third place finalists will receive $1,000 each. The purpose of the award, which is administered by the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University, is to encourage fairness in news coverage by America’s daily newspapers.

Nominations may be a single story, a photograph, an editorial or a commentary; a series of stories, photographs, editorials or commentaries; or a body of work by an individual journalist. Entries must be postmarked no later than Friday, Jan. 18, 2008, for work published in a U.S. daily newspaper during the previous calendar year.

Anyone may submit a nomination by sending to the address below five copies of the work and a letter explaining why the entry is an exemplary example of fairness in newspapers. The letter should also describe how the work was developed, reported and presented to readers in the context of fairness. In evaluating work, submitters should consider all aspects of the journalistic process: reporting, writing, editing, headlines, photographs and illustrations, and presentation.

Taylor Family Award for Fairness
Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard
One Francis Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138

For more information about the Taylor Family Award for Fairness in Newspapers, visit:

Best regards,
Ellen Tuttle
Ellen Tuttle
Communications Officer
Nieman Foundation for Journalism
at Harvard University

Friday, December 14, 2007

NAAJA announces 2008 Mehdi Courage in Journalism Award, Excellence in Journalism Contest

NAAJA is proud to announce the 2008 Mehdi Courage in Journalism Contest and the Excellence in Journalism Contest for Middle East, Arab American and general writing for print, TV, radio and web blogs.

The contest is open to anyone.

The deadline for submissions is Feb. 1, 2008. Winners are announced in April 2008.

Get details at:

You can't win unless you enter.

Ray Hanania